Archive for the ‘Books’ Category

Timothy Zahn’s Next Novel: SW: Scoundrels

March 22, 2012

TheForce.Net – Latest News – Zahn’s Next Novel: SW: Scoundrels.


Timothy Zahn has written the very best Star Wars novels, starting with the Thrawn trilogy set in the years after “Return of the Jedi”. So a new book from him is wonderful news. The downside is that the new book, which features Han Solo, won’t be published until December.

The blurb from the Random House catalog:

Ocean’s Eleven meets Star Wars in this classic adventure set just after Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope. From #1 New York Times bestselling author Timothy Zahn.

The Death Star has just been destroyed and Han Solo still needs the money to pay off the bounty on his head. Now the opportunity to make that money and then some has walked into his life in the form of the perfect heist. With nine like-minded scoundrels, he and Chewbacca just might be able to pull it off and live to tell the tale!


Review: Star Trek Vanguard Reap the Whirlwind

May 18, 2011

June 21, 2007

It’s difficult to keep up with a continuing series when the books come out a year apart. “Vanguard: Reap the Whirlwind” (published May 2007) is the third book in a series that started with “Vanguard: Harbinger” (published July 2005) and continued with “Vanguard: Summon the Thunderer” (published June 2006).

In the case of ordinary Star Trek books this perhaps wouldn’t matter quite so much, everyone knows who Kirk, Spock and McCoy are, or Picard, Ricard and Data. But this series brings in a completely new cast of characters. Set in the period of The Original Series, it is placed on a space station in the distant Taurus Reach, an unexplored area contended for by the Federation, Tholians, and Klingons. It also contains a deep secret in the form of a massive genome left behind by a dormant, extremely ancient, and massively powerful people.

That said, there are a few characters from TOS, and in one case what might be a section of suspense isn’t because anyone who has seen “The Wrath of Khan” knows a particular character is not about to die. But there’s also a delightful surprise at the end when another character from that film suddenly appears.

Picking up “Reap the Whirlwind” a year after reading its predecessor, it takes a while to get up to speed. Author David Mack does a good job of reminding us who everyone is, and there is a very helpful “Vanguard Minipedia” in the back of the book, which unfortunately many readers may not discover until they get to the end of the book.

The story is good, many threads come together, and the book brings up interesting issues of ethics (or personal feelings) versus duty, or whether a potential threat to the survival of billions is worth a much more certain threat to thousands.

Review: Crucible: Spock The Fire and the Rose

May 18, 2011

December 2, 2006

This is the sequel to Crucible: McCoy Provenance of Shadows, and the middle book of a trilogy revolving around the three main characters of the original Star Trek, McCoy, Spock and Kirk. The three books are all supposed to center around a key incident in the lives off all three, the visit to 1930’s New York in the TV episode “City on the Edge of Forever”, in which Kirk is forced to allow his love Edith Keeler to die to preserve the timeline of the future.

The nice touch is that both books take up the consequences of events in the TV episodes, filling in the lives of the main characters between what we saw on TV, and allowing them to react and follow-up on what happened there. In this book we see how Spock made the transition from Star Fleet to the diplomatic corps, his second attempt at the emotion-purging Kolinahr, and how he deals with the news of the death of his mother Amanda. (Ironically the book comes days after the death of actress Jane Wyatt, who played Amanda on both television and in the film “Star Trek: The Voyage Home”.)

For the complete review go to:

Review: “Crucible: McCoy Provenance of Shadows”

May 18, 2011

October 5, 2006

“Provenance of Shadows is the first of a new trilogy of Star Trek original series books by David R. George III, each centering around the three main characters, McCoy, Spock, and Kirk.

In his foreward George says he had a problem adding something new to all the TV shows, movies, and books already written about these characters. Instead he looks at their entire lives, but with a crucial point of departure, the events of the TV episode “City on the Edge of Forever”.

For the complete review, go to:

%d bloggers like this: